greenshorts awards high school environmental filmmakers


GreenShorts awards high school environmental filmmakers

art & culture

Last night, more than a hundred burgeoning environmental filmmakers, along with their teachers and families, came to UCLA for the 2018 GreenShorts awards ceremony.

The event, which was held at the James Bridges Theater on campus in Westwood, recognized top short films in five categories out of more than than 70 entries from high school students from across Southern California. 

Winners were chosen by an all-star panel of judges including Netflix director of content acquisition Colin Morawski, Rachel Kropa, co-executive director of Creative Arts Agency Foundation, and Jesse Sisgold, IoES board member and president of Skydance Media. First place filmmakers receive $750 and a tour of Paramount Studios. 

The film contest is one part of GreenSparks, a science and communications program that aims to create educational opportunities for young people around environmental issues — and give them a chance to show their creative flair.

Congratulations to all of this year’s winners, runners-up and contestants.

First place films:

Category: Climate Heroes
Winners: Edgar Gamez and Devin Lona
School: LAUSD/USC Media Arts and Engineering Magnet

Category: Watertopia
Winner: Matt Dorgan 
School: Point Loma High School

Category: No Justice, No Green
Winner: Hector Nava
School: Alliance Piera Barbaglia Shaheen Health Serivces Academy

Category: You Are What You Eat
Winners: Natalia Pacheco, Khyrsten Marquez
School: LAUSD/USC Media Arts and Engineering Magnet

Category: Wild CA
Winner: Taegan Obermeyer
School: Providence High School